List Of Universities That Are Not Under ASUU In 2023/2024

Universities That Are Not Under ASUU: Given the challenging clime of the Nigerian educational system, it comes as no surprise that one of the crucial steps most postsecondary students take whilst seeking admission is the identification of institutions not affiliated with ASUU. Why, you may wonder? This is because the ASUU strike has become a tradition and regular occurrence in Nigeria’s higher education system.

The continuous and rather consistent strikes do not auger well for majority of the Nigerian students as it only leads to protracted delays in the overall study duration. Thus, you see students spend longer time in the University than necessary for their respective disciplines. In light of this situation, this article delves deeply into the list of universities that are not affiliated with ASUU.

Recommended: Most Competitive Universities In Nigeria

Brief Overview Of ASUU

ASUU, also known as the Academic Staff Union of Universities, was founded in 1978 as a union for academic employees in universities in Nigeria. The Union was a key player in the 1980s opposition to the military regime. In 1988, the union organised a nationwide strike to demand fair pay and university autonomy.  On August 7, 1988, though, ASUU was deemed unlawful and all of its assets were seized. Although it was permitted to resume in 1990, a subsequent strike on August 23, 1992, led to its prohibition once more.

Which university is not under ASUU strike?
Which university is not under ASUU strike?

However, an agreement was reached on September 3 that took into account a number of the union’s demands, including the right of employees to participate in collective bargaining. In 1994 and 1996, the ASUU planned new strikes in response to the firing of workers under Sani Abacha’s military regime.

Recommended: Where To Invest Money In Nigeria

ASUU is a labour union that, according to its founders, has an objective that revolves around the regulation of interactions between academic employees and employers, the promotion of participation in the university system and national activities as well as protecting and advancing the socio-economic and cultural interests of the country.

List of State universities that are not under asuu or that are not on strike?
List of State universities that are not under asuu or that are not on strike?

It’s important to highlight that there are universities that aren’t under the umbrella of ASUU, and vice versa; thus, both exist. For the most part, a vast majority of private institutions aren’t under ASUU since they do not rely on the government for payroll or other forms of financial aid. So there is no logical reason for them to be a part of ASUU or participate in any of their strikes. On the other hand, though, ASUU is affiliated with certain state universities as well as practically all government-owned universities in Nigeria.

Recommended: Highest Paying Programming Jobs

On that note, below is a list of universities not under ASUU.

1. Federal Universities Not Under ASUU in Nigeria

2. University of Nigeria, Nsukka

3. University of Ilorin

Recommended: Richest Companies In Nigeria

State Universities Not Under ASUU in Nigeria

Some State universities in Nigeria are not under ASUU. These universities are:

1. Abia State University (ABSU)

2. Anambra State University (ANSU)

3. Delta State University (DELSU)

4. Osun State University (UNIOSUN)

5. Ekiti State University (EKSU)

6. Rivers State University (RSU)

7. Lagos State University (LASU)

Recommended: Most Lucrative/Profitable Courses To Study In The World

Universities that are not Under ASUU in Nigeria 2023
Universities that are not Under ASUU in Nigeria 2023

Private Universities Not Under ASUU

Interestingly, all private universities in Nigeria are not under ASUU. There are 79 private Universities that are not under ASUU strike in Nigeria. See the full list below:

1. Achievers University, Owo

2. Afe Babalola University, Ado-Ekiti – Ekiti State

3. Admiralty University, Ibusa Delta State

4. Al-Hikmah University, Ilorin

5. Al-Qalam University, Katsina

6. American University of Nigeria, Yola

7. Anchor University Ayobo Lagos State

8. Ajayi Crowther University, Ibadan.

9. Adeleke University, Ede

10. Arthur Javis University Akpoyubo Cross River State

11. African University of Science & Technology, Abuja Augustine University

12. Atiba University Oyo

13. Baze University

14. Babcock University, Ilishan-Remo

15. Benson Idahosa University, Benin City

16. Bells University of Technology, Otta

17. Bingham University, New Karu

18. Bowen University, Iwo

19. Caleb University, Lagos

20. Covenant University Ota

21. Caritas University, Enugu

22. Chrisland University

23. Christopher University Mowe

24. Crown Hill University Eiyenkorin, Kwara State

25. Clifford University Owerrinta Abia State

26. Coal City University Enugu State

27. Crawford University Igbesa

28. Crescent University

29. Dominican University, Ibadan Oyo State

30. Dominion University Ibadan

31. Edwin Clark University

32. Evangel University

33.  Elizade University

34. Eko University of Medical and Health Sciences

35. Fountain University

36. Godfrey Okoye University

37. Gregory University

38. Greenfield University, Kaduna

39. Hezekiah University

40. Hallmark University

41. Igbinedion University

42. Joseph Ayo Babalola University

43. Kola Daisi University Ibadan, Oyo State

44. Kwararafa University

45. Kings University

46. Lead City University, Ibadan.

47. Landmark University

48. Legacy University, Okija Anambra State

49. Madonna University

50. Micheal & Cecilia Ibru University

51. Mcpherson University

52. Mountain Top University

53. Nile University of Nigeria, Abuja

54. Novena University, Ogume

55. Oduduwa University, Ipetumodu – Osun State

56. Obong University, Obong Ntak

57. PAMO University of Medical Sciences, Portharcourt

58. Paul University, Awka – Anambra State

59. Pan-Atlantic University, Lagos

60. Precious Cornerstone University, Oyo

61. Renaissance University, Enugu

62. Rhema University, Obeama-Asa – Rivers State

63. Redeemer’s University, Ede

64. Ritman University, Ikot Ekpene, Akwa Ibom

65. Salem University, Lokoja

66. Skyline University, Kano

67. Spiritan University, Nneochi Abia State

68. Southwestern University, Oku Owa

69. Samuel Adegboyega University, Ogwa.

70. Summit University

71. Tansian University, Umunya

72. Trinity University

73. University of Mkar, Mkar

74. Veritas University, Abuja

75. Westland University Iwo, Osun State

76. Western Delta University, Oghara Delta State

77. Wellspring University, Evbuobanosa – Edo State

78. Wesley University. of Science & Technology

List Of Universities Not Under ASUU In Nigeria
List Of Universities Not Under ASUU In Nigeria

Recommended: Richest Musicians In Nigeria And Their Networth


It’s crucial to emphasise that, irrespective of the aforementioned list, both public universities and private institutions outside of ASUU are subject to the same oversight, regulation, and accreditation. This means that, regardless of whether you choose a federally-funded university, a state-funded university, or a private institution, you will receive the same quality education.